Join us for our virtual gala on August 28 at 7PM, as we celebrate the 2020 Champions of Equality with an inspiring program. This annual event brings together hundreds of political, civic, and community leaders from throughout South Florida who stand for fairness and equality for LGBTQ people. Through the use of a virtual platform, this year we look to engage with an even greater audience of individuals who share our passion and values.

*Registration is free.

Please consider registering with a donation to support the work of SAVE.


SAVE established the Champions of Equality awards in 2005 to honor those who have significantly advanced the cause of equality for the LGBTQ community in South Florida.

2020 Champions of Equality Honorees:


State Representative Nicholas X. Duran
State Senator Jason W. B. Pizzo

Equality Legacy

Commissioner Audrey M. Edmonson
Commissioner Barbara J. Jordan
Commissioner Dennis C. Moss
Commissioner Xavier L. Suarez

Hall of Champions

Dr. Susanne Doblecki-Lewis
Dr. Besiki Luka Kutateladze
Dr. Steven A. Safren
Dr. Mario Stevenson
Dr. José Szapocznik

Community Heroes

Robin L. Bodiford
Jorge Mursuli