Miami-Dade Commission capitulates on Trump 'sanctuary cities' order


Instead of using the tools at their disposal to resist, the Miami-Dade County Commission, following the lead of Mayor Carlos Gimenez, just voted to capitulate to President Donald Trump's unconstitutional and un-American order on sanctuary cities.

These commissioners voted to put your security and values in jeopardy:

  • Chairman Esteban Bovo
  • Sally Heyman
  • Javier Souto
  • Jose "Pepe" Diaz
  • Bruno Barreiro
  • Rebeca Sosa
  • Joe Martinez
  • Audrey Edmonson
  • Dennis Moss

These commissioners stood up for what's right:

  • Daniella Levine Cava
  • Jean Monestime
  • Xavier Suarez

We will not allow Donald Trump to illegally hold hostage funding for County security over petty anti-immigrant, anti-equality, and discriminatory executive orders. We will not compromise on our security.

We will not compromise on racism and discrimination, and we will demand of our representatives at ALL levels to use ALL the tools at their disposal to resist, or else face an angry electorate.

Last month, SAVE Executive Director Tony Lima appeared alongside the leadership of other community organizations at the Miami-Dade County Government Center at a protest to demand answers for the Mayor’s choice. Watch the video below:


It is time for Mayor Gimenez to honor his repeated promises to the LGBTQ community to be Mayor for ALL Miamians. Other big-city mayors, such as Los Angeles’s Eric Garcetti and San Francisco’s Ed Lee, have taken legal action against the Trump administration's unconstitutional order.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Sign up for emails Donate Volunteer